African Renaissance

​I will romanticize this continent until I leave it.

Not leave it by shaky boat or plane but leave it by dying; my spirit leaving this body that is as black  and pockmarked as my continent.

I will romanticize this continent until we all stop thinking real lives happen somewhere else.

I will write and speak until Lagos is considered the city of love

And Nairobi becomes our shorthand for urban, alive, thriving – and not New York.

I will write until flowers and not bullets blossom in Mogadishu.

I will write until we backpack to Kinshasa and Maputo and not Rome or The Swiss Alps.

I will write this continent down in ink and make Dar our shorthand for art and Kisumu for dance. 

I Will write until Darfur no longer stinks of dying children

I will write until Tripoli stands again and Cairo stops denying its Africanness and Bamako becomes as sexy as Marrakech and Ghana earns just as much money for its chocolate as Belgium does for stealing it.

I will write so beautifully that Madagascar will claw it’s way back to the motherland and secures itself surely against Mombasa’s bossom – So Beautiful will The Risen Africa be.

We will write in Maputo and dance in Harare, we will eat in Lamu and swim on Nigeria’s oil drenched shores.

We will live in Africa and Europe will be our alternative literature.

9 thoughts on “African Renaissance

  1. mandela has a ditched his shuffle and found a youthful bounce; Gaddafi’s head which sat wistfully has found its legs and has joined Mandela, Leonard Senhor has found a quill that will write a thousand more Karwitharesque poems from his grave…. Its the Neo- Panafricanism! It’s refined Negritude! Its a revolution! It’s beautiful! Amandla!

    Like

  2. Hi there, I plan to move back the motherland after university and I cannot tell you what this poem means to me. I would love to send you a revision I made. I would love to perform it at my university with your permission. Thank you for all your words, my friend. I am so blessed by them.

    Like

    1. Hi Hope. I’m so glad to hear that. Yes, send me your revision, and you have my permission to perform it as long as you acknowledge the source (writer). This continent belongs to us & excited to hear that you plan on coming back. Where are you studying?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, thank you! I have no idea how to send it to, pls help. I will definitely acknowledge you as the writer once have you permission!

        Like

Leave a comment